Thank you for visiting!

Welcome to the Driftless Humane Society!

The Driftless Humane Society  is a not-for-profit humane society based in Viroqua, Wisconsin, the county seat of government in Vernon County. We are in the southwest area of the state, and one edge of our county borders the Mississippi River. This is a largely rural, hilly region that is sparsely populated. Residents have below-average incomes.

The Driftless Humane Society is a no-kill animal shelter – we do not euthanize healthy animals to make room for more. We are private, local, and independent. We can occasionally accept owner-surrendered animals when we have available space; please call for more information.

Towns, villages and townships in Vernon County can elect to contract with our organization to shelter their strayed or homeless pets. Wisconsin state law puts the burden of stray or homeless animal collection upon the towns, villages and townships, not the county nor the state. Many villages and townships have already contracted with us, and we hope that those that have not will vote to do so in the future. If your community or township has a contract with us, you can request your law enforcement officer to pick up the dog or cat and bring it to the shelter. Unfortunately, we do not have facilities for feral (wild) cats.

Our web site is created by volunteers using WordPress editing software. We hope that you find the information you seek, and enjoy reading about our organization.

To reach the webmaster, send an email.

Shelter Manager

Linda Kica

Shelter Staff

  • Larissa Clifton
  • Ross Delap
  • Fawn Eno
  • Rebecca Fitzwater
  • Mary Fremsted
  • Crystal Noble

Board Members

William Meeks, Pres.
Kerry Hall, Vice Pres.
Steve Zastrow, Treasurer

Board Members:

Diane McGinnis
Linzi Gronning
Sheriff John Spears
Dr. Robert Starr